Musicians Collaboration Studio

Unwanted Noise

Offline DonAllen

• My better side
This may have been asked, but I have a mastering question for the guru's.

I know there has to be a way and I'm just mastering ignorant, of removing unwanted string noise form my guitar tracks.  I'm refering to the occasional ring of a string close to the one you just hit.  I know the ideal way is to play cleaner and muffle those strings but sometimes is unavoidable due to stupid fingers.  Would there be a way to get rid of them and also the finger slide sound of changing chords?  Some kind of filter, maybe? 

Thanks

Don

Offline Gerk

• Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • code monkey no sing!
    • Studio Gerk Pics
The best results I've had eliminating this stuff is wav editing.  No filters or plugins I've tried to date can get rid of this.  If it's something on a chord/position change it should be fairly easy to snip out ... if it's something with other audio behind it ... I don't have good advice for you there aside from retracking :/

Offline DonAllen

• My better side
thanks for the reply Gerk.  wave editing, are you referring to the actual dragging the wave out and cutting the offending piece out?  that's what i try now and is time consuming.  guess i'm looking for shortcuts, lol. 

thanks again,

Don

Offline Gerk

• Administrator
  • Super Hero
  • code monkey no sing!
    • Studio Gerk Pics