Musicians Collaboration Studio

DAW Comparions, Recommendations, Configuring and Help

Offline StevieRich

• Give me a riverbank and a cool breeze
I am just getting started with this home studio recording and could use some opinions, advise and help getting started. I have been doing simple recording using Acid 4.0 and have just purchased 6.0. but haven't jumped into it yet. This is what I know and since it was for my own practice and entertainment, I did not get that far into all the possibilitis of 4 let alone 6. I would just lay a track to play back for my leads and sometimes build a 4-5 track song, but always unfinished.

My question is, can I use Acid here while I learn other programs like Albleton Live and Sonar or do I need to learn those a bit first before I colab. I see that Acid can render files to WMA but I do not see a way to import in and open so that I may jam with other file formats. Maybe I'm missing something? Not sure what I'm doing here. can you tell me the sequence of events as far as file sharing with the site and which software will work best or exceptable. I'm good with most any software but not clear on the sequences here to take part. 

Here is a simple list of what I have so far
Dell Inspiron Laptop 8500 Pentium 4 M 2.4 ghz
512 meg ram, 60 gig hard drive
cd/rw/dvd 5700 rpm I think
OS Windows XP Home w/service pack 2

M-Audio Fast Track Pro
Event 5's Monitors - BiAmped
Marshall Condenser Mic with buit in phanthom power  99.00 on ebay sold as laptop mic, not bad
SM -57 & 58  one each

Software -  Right now, the only working DAW is Acid 4.0  i have been keeping it really simple since I record live acoustic and vocals and maybe a harmonica once and awhile. I would like to play more of my own instruments such as mandolin or fiddle down the road.