Musicians Collaboration Studio

Removing Hiss

Brina · 25 · 13965

Offline Brina

Hey guys,

Curious what's the best route to remove hiss.  As some know I'm practicing...LOL...and using Sergio's tune "sad eyes" as my "experiment".  I believe I've got some hiss in the drum track that I can't seem to get rid of or  minimize.  If I add a gate or limit it or change the eq I loose some of if not all of the essence of the brushes.....

SadEyes with Drums
http://home.studiogerk.com/~brina/data/SadEyesBrinaMix7-30-06.wma

SadEyes without Drums
http://home.studiogerk.com/~brina/data/SadEyesNoDrums.wma

Thought I'd ask you guys for ideas....and to see if I'm loosing my mind as well...or being just too picky.

Its my first attempt at a complete (I'll be it simple) arrangement...so keep that in mind as well.

Thanks guys
Brina

PS.  Rab's actually doing the "Final" on this , just experimenting and learning the software and stuff....in case you're wondering.
I just wanna sing..email me sometime  sabrinalund1973@yahoo.com

dogbizkits

Hi, Brina....

When we have our chat on Skype, I'll give you a quick run-down on "hiss" and how to get rid of it. An important consideration is to make sure sure your noise-floor is kept low as possible and that you record louder than that noise floor otherwise the hiss will become too apparent. With most recordings starting their journey through an analog front-end, there are many elements to be considered (depending on what gear you have) and we'll discuss these shortly.

Cheers,

Rab  8)

Offline Bobby Watson

• Super Hero
  • What's a band without members?
    • Backporch Dreams
Can you post just the drum track, Brina? I'm not sure that I am hearing a "hiss" so to speak. But, there does seem to be a certain amount of room ambience there... I'd just be curious to hear the drums alone... Cutting out the intro click, so as not to hone in on it, doesn't leave it particularly noticeable to me..

BW@