Musicians Collaboration Studio

Bed Tracks For Auditions - Drummers Preferences

sleeker · 10 · 7754

Offline sleeker

Apart from the file type, I feel there are a few different preferences on how we like the bedtrack.

As a drummer I personally prefer a stereo mix recorded originally to a click or drum machine, with an 8 click intro, along with the bpm.
I can then import it into Cubase, line up the 8 click intro, and adjust the click volume in cubase to suit, thus giving me a very inspirational sound in the cans  :)
But I do realise that some of the other guys prefer a click panned left and the music panned right.
Is it a bit much to ask them to post both?

Thoughts anyone?

S
« Last Edit: March 09, 2006, 03:38:33 PM by NickT »
Roland V Drums

Offline groverk

• The Pendletones
I would have to agree with Sleeker.

Click on one side and bed on the other works excellent, but if given the choice I would rather have an 8 click intro into a stereo mix.

Ken

Offline Bassic_Soul

• Rollin with the flow
Because different people like it done in different ways, wouldn't it do to state your preference for the type of mix you'd like when you get involved with the thread?

Or perhaps there's a place in your member profile that you could state how you'd like your tracking mix so you didn't have to type it out repeatedly....

Nick?

8)
Preston

Offline Pleasuredome

• Super Hero
  • Symi Rock
    • My Web Page
I'm with you on that Bassic Soul!

The idea of the preference on the profile I don't see working though, since you wouldn't know which drummer was going to bite and be interested in auditioning the song.

Communication of requirements by the drummer when they join the thread is the most logical way I would suggest but that's just MHO, I'm not a drummer (although I'd like to be!).