Musicians Collaboration Studio

How do get so much volume on your final mixes?

srvfender · 45 · 17538

Offline srvfender

• Soundclick
I'm basically new to mixing and mastering. I use Sonar home studio 6XL for recording and Izotope ozone 3 as a plug in for mastering. I'm happy with the overall quality of the mix, just want more volume like some of you are getting. When I try to bump up the volume of the mix overall with added compression its get too squashed and sounds terrible. If I turn up the volume in Sonar the meters get into the red, although the sound does not distort. Is it okay to try that or are ther any other suggestions?

Thanks,

AJ

Offline DoozerDan

• Just another guitarist.
I'll be interested to see the replies to this, I have the same problem.   

Offline CosmicDolphin

• Jedi
  • Do or do not..there is no try
    • Phonicworks : TV Production Music
Hi AJ

If you push Sonar into the red you're introducing digital distortion which sounds nasty, so always make sure you have enough headroom on your final mixdown.

There's loads of ways to get more volume, they're basically all compressors of some sort and everyone will have a favourite.  I use waves L3 which is a multiband compressor and a brick wall limiter , but try not to squash the song too much.

If you want something cheap but very good , then once you get your head around it Harbal is excellent for final eq and it has it's own limiter so you can match the volume of another track.  You can literally get a pretty decent result with that on it's own using the automatic eq ( intuit Q) and gain button !  Though you will get better results if you take the time to learn to use it in more detail, it can also help show you where your going wrong on unbalanced mixes or highlight monitoring problems that may be room based and you're overcompensating.

CosmicD
We never finish a mix... we simply abandon them.
You can't polish a turd, but you can always spray paint it GOLD